Remove contacts from email lists



Removing contacts from lists or changing their permission status

Article: 000002073 Product: All

Remove contacts from email lists

When organizing or cleaning up your contacts, there may be times when you need to delete contacts from your account or just remove a contact from a specific list. There are multiple ways that you can remove contacts from your account:


Remove from Email Lists

If you want to remove a single contact from one or even all lists, you need to edit that contact's details:
  1. Click Contacts.

    Contacts
  2. Search or browse for the contact you want to review. 
  3. Click the contact's name.

    Search
  4. Scroll to the email section of the contact details and click the X on the name of the list or lists you no longer want the contact to exist on.

    Delete
Removing the contact from all email lists does not delete the contact from your account. The contact will still remain active and billable. In order to completely remove the contact from your account, you need to delete them.


Delete From Account

Deleting contacts from your account allows you to take them out of circulation but leaves the door open to bring them back again later. 

  1. Click Contacts.

    Contacts
  2. Search or browse for the contacts you want to review. 
  3. Select the contact by clicking it's check box or click the check box at the top of the list to select everyone all at once.
  4. Click More Actions > Delete.

    Delete
  5. Click Delete X Contacts.

    Confirm
The contacts no longer appear in your lists or anywhere in your account. Since they are completely gone, they won't count towards your billing, either.


Removing Permission Status

If a contact asks that you remove them from your list, you need to make sure that they are unsubscribed properly and not just removed. This keeps you in line with anti-spam laws.

  1. Click Contacts.

    Contacts
  2. Search or browse for the contact you want to review. 
  3. Click the contact's name.

    Search
  4. Click Permission to send > Unsubscribed.

    Permission
  5. Click Yes, unsubscribe to confirm the action.

    Permission
The contact has now been unsubscribed and you are protected from accidentally emailing them. The contact will still show in your account, so you don't lose any valuable information, however it won't count towards your billing. You won't be able to resubscribe any unsubscribed contacts manually from within your account, but unsubscribed contacts who want to return to your list can resubscribe themselves using a sign-up form.


Rate This Answer

Provide Feedback on this Answer
Please share your feedback below to make this answer more helpful. Note: If you need immediate assistance, please visit our Help & Support page to contact us – we’re here to help.