Suspend or Cancel an account
 

Frequently Asked Questions

Whether you’re test driving our products, getting started with your marketing efforts or taking them to the next level, we've got the answers to your questions.

    
Search Tips
    

Email Answer

*Recipient Email

*Your Email

*Your Name

*Denotes a required field.




I need to take a break from my marketing activities, how can I suspend or cancel my account?

Article: 000001925    Product: All

Suspend or Cancel an account

There are many reasons why you may need to take a break from your marketing activities, and you can either suspend or cancel your account. When deciding which method is best for you, please keep in mind that Constant Contact does not provide refunds.

Tip: Instead of cancelling your account, consider suspending it. Suspending lets you keep all of your content, reporting, and contact information stored for when you're ready to use it again.

Note: If your account includes multiple products and you only want to cancel one product or an add-on (as opposed to your entire Constant Contact account), you can cancel online from within your account.


Suspend

If you don't need to use your account every month, for a small monthly fee you can suspend your account instead of cancelling it. Suspending lets you:

  • Store and access your contacts and lists.
  • Create and edit Emails, Events, Surveys and Polls, Offers and Social Campaigns. (Keep in mind that you won't be able to send or publish any drafts.)
  • Access past campaigns and reporting.
  • Keep the images and documents stored in the Library.

To suspend your account, please call Customer Support - the number is always available at the top of the screen when you're logged into your account. Our representatives will walk you through the ins and outs of suspending.

When you're ready to unsuspend your account, you can do it by clicking the "My Account" link at the top of the page after logging in.

Back to Top

Cancel

If you cancel your account, and decide to reactivated it within 90 days of cancellation, all of the data that was in your account becomes available again.

To cancel your account, please contact our Billing specialists between 7AM - 9PM Eastern Time - the number is always available at the top of the screen when you're logged into your account. Our specialists will walk you through the ins and outs of cancelling.

Be sure to contact us prior to your next billing date in order to avoid the next month's charges, and have the following information ready:

  1. User name of the account you want to cancel.
  2. Reason for your cancellation. We use this information to find ways to improve Constant Contact's products and service.

We will send an email within 24 hours to your Contact email address confirming your request.

Back to Top

Delete Prepayment Funds

If your prepayment balance reaches zero, your account is not cancelled. Your account will be charged the monthly fee unless you submit another prepayment.

Back to Top


IMPORTANT!  Under the CAN-SPAM Act opt-outs (unsubscribe requests) never expire, so even after you close your account you must ensure that you never mail to the addresses on your Constant Contact Do Not Mail list unless you receive a new explicit opt-in request for that address.

We encourage you to maintain a list of your contacts on your Do Not Mail List and should you decide to leave Constant Contact, bring this list with you to your new email marketing provider.  


Provide Feedback on this Answer
Please share your feedback below to make this answer more helpful. Note: If you need immediate assistance, please visit our Help & Support page to contact us – we’re here to help.
 
 
Not Helpful Helpful